Ablism Awareness Month

*blows the dust off the blog* Hello everyone, sorry for taking so long in between posts.

So, April is officially labelled as “autism awareness month”.

Gag.

Since I’ve been reading a lot of the blogs I read for more than a year, long enough to have gone through an april with them, I know exactly what to expect as an autistic person reading them, even ostensibly social justice-oriented blogs. They’re going to ignore autistic voices in favor of caretakers. The Quixotic Autistic lays out more ways we’ll see this happen in a nicely poetically-titled post, but for those of us who have experienced it, we just know what will happen and can only brace ourselves.

This will happen everywhere. This will not be confined to the mainstream media. This won’t just spread out to sites I wouldn’t read anyway. Social justice oriented sites will participate in this fail too. I know this because I’ve seen it happen as recently as last year.

So, instead, I’m proclaiming: On this blog and on my Tumblr, April will be Ablism Awareness Month. If I see something ablist, especially anti-autistic, on any of the sites I usually visit, I’ll say something even if only there. Since the first of May has been Blogging Against Disablism Day every year up ’til now, I’ll summarize my experience of the whole month then. It’s exciting to have a blog so I can participate in this.

Anyone who wants to join me is welcome. I’d love to not be doing this alone. I don’t plan to go looking for ablism in places I don’t regularly read, and I don’t expect to catch every microaggression in the places I do go. But if I have to do this alone, then I will. We’ll see how this month in the life of an agry autie goes.

5 Responses to Ablism Awareness Month

  1. Nora says:

    I will totally do ableism awareness month with you, it sounds brilliant. And I apologize in advance for all the shit you’re going to see for the sake of autism awareness we’re-the-parents/acquaintances/distant relatives-of-an-autistic-kid-so-let’s-not-forget-how-important-we-are awareness. D:

  2. Dreki says:

    I’m in favor of this. Will try to help, but don’t know what I’ll really do.

  3. Jeanne says:

    I’ll participate! At least, in terms of calling out ableism and especially anti-autism when I see it. Not sure what else I can do though, since I’m able, and would be defeating the point by blogging about it.

  4. Kit Beard says:

    Every month for me is see-how-privileged-they-are-and-don’t-realise-it month, or do-not-realise-they-are-contradicting-themself month, or they-really-said-that month. Hopefully, during April I’ll get confident enough to send leaflets about CFS/ME to my former psych, then drop into the place and see what I’ve caused. As for other posts, I don’t know. It’ll depend on what happens to me and what I read.

    • TAL9000 says:

      Every month for me is see-how-privileged-they-are-and-don’t-realise-it month, or do-not-realise-they-are-contradicting-themself month, or they-really-said-that month.

      It really is. April is particularly bad since they organize for extra ablism in April, but they never stop.

      Good luck getting your psych to change. More understanding professionals is always good.

Leave a Reply

